You are currently viewing Angela Bassett Wins 2023 Honorary Oscar

Angela Bassett Wins 2023 Honorary Oscar

June 27, 2023 | By Kali Girl

Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks, and Carol Littleton are set to receive honorary Oscars at this year’s Governors Awards, reports Variety. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the prestigious recognition, with the awards being presented at the 14th annual ceremony on November 18, 2023, in Los Angeles.

Angela Bassett, a veteran actor with a remarkable career spanning over four decades in film and television, has captured the hearts of audiences. She earned her first Oscar nomination for best actress for her remarkable portrayal of Tina Turner in the 1993 film “What’s Love Got to Do With It?”.

Recently, in her powerful portrayal of Queen Ramonda in “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (2022), she earned her second nomination for supporting actress, making history as the first actor from a Marvel Studios film and the first woman from a superhero movie to receive acting recognition.

Her filmography includes remarkable roles that have left a mark on the Academy’s history, such as “Boyz N the Hood” (1991), which led to John Singleton becoming the first Black filmmaker and the youngest nominee for best director, and “Black Panther,” the first superhero movie nominated for best picture.

Notable career highlights also encompass “Malcolm X” (1992), “How Stella Got Her Groove Back” (1998), “Mission: Impossible — Fallout” (2018), and “Soul” (2020).

She has been nominated for an Emmy seven times, showcasing her extensive television work with memorable performances in “The Jacksons: An American Dream,” “The Rosa Parks Story,” and “American Horror Story.”

This year, she is in contention for two categories: lead drama actress for Fox’s “9-1-1” and narrator for the documentary “Good Night Oppy.

The Honorary Award is “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or outstanding service to the Academy.”

Leave a Reply